UP Dance and BP Alumna Hazel Sabas-Gower

Hazel Sabas-Gower, choreographer and dance educator, has been selected for a second Fulbright Specialists project in Taiwan at Taipei National University of the Arts during May 21-June 10, 2012, according to the United States Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board. In 2009, Sabas-Gower completed her first Fulbright Specialist project at the University of the Philippines(UP) College of Music Dance Program in Diliman, Quezon City. Sabas-Gower was a UP Dance Major and a former Ballet Philippines(BP) Principal Dancer. She earned her Master of Fine Arts Degree from New York University's Tisch School of the Arts.

TNUA states in their program overview that “a Fulbright Specialist such as Hazel Sabas-Gower possesses the expertise in Ballet technique, pedagogy, and choreography that can be most beneficial to the dance program at TNUA. Her presence will benefit not only the students and faculty members at TNUA, but also the dance community at-large in Taiwan. She will teach classes, lead workshops, and give lectures and demonstrations at Taipei National University of the Arts(TNUA) based in Taiwan as well as at other institution and professional dance companies”.

Sabas-Gower is one of over 400 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad this year through the Fulbright Specialists Program. The Fulbright Specialists Program, created in 2000 to complement the traditional Fulbright Scholar Program, provides short-term academic opportunities (two to six weeks) to prominent U.S. faculty and professionals to support curricular and faculty development and institutional planning at post secondary, academic institutions around the world.

The Fulbright Program, America’s flagship international educational exchange activity, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Over its 60 years of existence, thousands of U.S. faculty and professionals have taught, studied or conducted research abroad, and thousands of their counterparts from other countries have engaged in similar activities in the United States. Over 285,000 emerging leaders in their professional fields have received Fulbright awards, including individuals who later became heads of government, Nobel Prize winners, and leaders in education, business, journalism, the arts and other fields.

Recipients of Fulbright Scholar awards are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement. Among thousands of prominent Fulbright Scholar alumni are Milton Friedman, Nobel Prize-winning economist; Alan Leshner, CEO of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS); Rita Dove, Pulitzer Prize-winning poet; and Craig Barrett, Chairman of the Board of Intel Corporation. Distinguished Fulbright Specialist participants include Mahmoud Ayoub, Professor of Religion at Temple University, Heidi Hartmann, President and CEO, Institute for Women's Policy Research, Percy R. Luney, Jr. Dean and Professor, College of Law, Florida A&M University and Emily Vargas-Barone, Founder and Executive Director of the RISE Institute.


Post a Comment


Contact Form


Email *

Message *

Theme images by graphixel. Powered by Blogger.