Let's support Ballet Philippines in the First Boston InternationalBallet Competition in Boston!

BP dancers join the 1st Boston International Ballet Competition
Four of Ballet Philippines’ artists have been accepted to the 1st Boston Ballet International Ballet Competition,slated on May 12 to 16, 2011. The artists were pre-selected via a video elimination round.

  • Candice Adea, Silver medalist, 2010 USA International Ballet Competition
  • Jean Marc Cordero, Semi-finalist, 2010 USA IBC
  • Cyril Fallar, First Place Winner, 2010 Namcya Senior Ballet Division
  • Philip Rocamora, Third Place Winner, 2010 Namcya Senior Ballet Division
  • Victor Ursabia, Team Coach

The accepted competitors include principal dancer Candice Adea, who won the silver medal at the prestigious USA International Ballet Competition in Jackson, Mississippi last year; principal dancer Jean Marc Cordero, who made it to the semi-final in Jackson; soloist Cyril Fallar, 1st Place Winner at the 2010 NAMCYA-Senior Ballet Division; and company member Philip Joseph Rocamora, 3rd Place Winner at NAMCYA.
To join them in Boston is the team’s coach, BPBallet Master Victor Ursabia, who mentored Adea and Cordero in Jackson.
“I am excited to expose our dancers to international competitions because they learn from others what they are capable of achieving. Win or loose, they grow to become world class dancers,” says BP’s indefatigable president, Margie Moran Floirendo.
The Boston International Ballet Competition isfounded and directed by Valentina Kozlova, former principal dancer of the Bolshoi Ballet and New York City Ballet. Kozlova has danced in the Philippines, as guest artist in Ballet Philippines’ 1994 production of Swan Lake (restaged by William Morgan).
The BIBC is composed of three categories: the Student Division, Junior Division, and Senior Division. BP’s artists will join the Senior Division, which is expected to draw competitors from around the world. Judges include Mikko Nissinen, artistic director of the Boston Ballet,Violette Verdy of France, Andris Liepa of Russia, Hae Shik Kim of South Korea and Septime Webre of the USA.

SOURCE: http://www.balletphilippines.org/news/news.php?id=25

Post a Comment


Contact Form


Email *

Message *

Theme images by graphixel. Powered by Blogger.